Hitchhiking in Estonia – new category


As of today I am starting a new category/tag section here in this blog and it shall be named hitchhiking in Estonia/autostop I am also going to write it in English as the info might be useful for travelers.

I am 22 years old girl currently studying in one of the smaller towns in Southern Estonia. I have been hitchhiking since I turned 18 but my first autostop was at the age of 16 in the middle of a winter from Tallinn to Pärnu… that kind of failed :D I have not hitchhiked abroad due to being scared of UK’s (where I lived for a year) traffic and due to Finnish (where I lived for 4 months) hard winter.

My most common routes are between the quaint little town (Viljandi) to the capital (Tallinn) or to my home town (Pärnu) or to the university town (Tartu). Most frequently I hitchhike during April to late autumn (November), but I have also done it during the winter. It is not the cold but rather the lack of daylight (during wintertime, there’s around 5 hours of it).

I opened this season of hitchhiking last Thursday when I went from Viljandi to Tallinn and from there to Pärnu on the next day. Today I am going to hike from Pärnu to Viljandi. I will try and write about the experiences here, adding some general data (weather, time etc). I will probably try to remember past memories too – I once wrote down all the hikes I made during couple of months. Should be fun!

From Viljandi to Tallinn, 29th April 2010
Weather: lousy. Gray, windy, drizzle.
Companions: yes, a girl who we shall call L.
Start of hitchhiking: around 3.45pm, at the border of Viljandi town on Tallinna mnt, just after the petrol station. (check the map under the link)
Time it took to get on: around 15 minutes

Driver and travelers: two Russian guys from Tallinn who had come to buy a car from Viljandi.

It was an OK trip. As the people were Russians and we knew only some of the language, it was jolly good to try and speak with them. They also tried to speak some Estonian which was nice. At first we were slightly scared – you know, two guys, two girls, different languages. But in the end I figured that the baby seat in the car should be a good sign. It was. They took us to the bus station in Tallinn and on the road I got a good glimpse into the life and style of an early 30-something Russian guy with a family. While their wives called them (apparently to check on them) we were to be quiet or else… I could not suppress my giggles and texted L. that it seems we are contraband on the backseat. Ha ha! We also surprised the guys as we both are single and ‘so old’ (22 and 24), heh! It was not the fastest trip (we arrived to Tallinn just after 6pm as the weather was not good and we made a gas stop too) but that is not the goal when hitchhiking anyway.

From Tallinn to Pärnu, 30th April 2010
Weather: lovely. Sunny and dry, though a bit chilly due to the early hours
Companions: no, but was picked up with another hitchhiker (a guy)
Start of hitchhiking: 9.42am, at the border of Tallinn near Laagri keskus.
Time it took to get on: around 5 minutes

Driver and travelers: a very pleasant driver and a guy also picked up from the same spot as me (he had a bag of stale candy with him, too!)

I wrote a bit more about the spots near Laagri on the Google Map bluespots. Tallinn-Pärnu has been one of the easiest routes to take, especially in the spring and summer time and on the weekends. Yet, it can be harder on the same time due to the full cars who head to relax away from the capital.

Anyway, this hike was lovely! The driver was interested of my opinion and talkative but yet it was not the typical conversation but fairly sophisticated dialog about culture, politics and Finland. Stimulating for Friday morning! We made it to Pärnu just before 11am so a quick one at that as well!

3 kommentaari

  1. Posted by Peeter Susi on 27/10/2010 at 16:55

    Tere Lisa. Ma olen uks “ValisEestlane”. My Mother and Father were born in Eestimaa but I was born in the US in 1954. I visited Estonia in June this year (2.5 weeks). I stayed with my Aunt and cousin and her husband in Rapla. I also visited Tallin & the Vanalinn, Tartu & Valga. I was surprised to see so many hitchhikers and just thinking about it, searched this out and read your blog. If you are interested in learning more about the USA, (I live in New Jersey, City of Paterson- which is a half hour/15 kilometers from NY City) Tervitades, Peeter Jaan Susi

    Vasta

  2. Posted by Peeter Susi on 27/10/2010 at 16:56

    Tere Lisa. Ma olen uks “ValisEestlane”. My Mother and Father were born in Eestimaa but I was born in the US in 1954. I visited Estonia in June this year (2.5 weeks). I stayed with my Aunt and cousin and her husband in Rapla. I also visited Tallin & the Vanalinn, Tartu & Valga. I was surprised to see so many hitchhikers and just thinking about it, searched this out and read your blog. If you are interested in learning more about the USA, (I live in New Jersey, City of Paterson- which is a half hour/15 kilometers from NY City) Tervitades, Peeter Jaan Susi peejay1954@hotmail.com

    Vasta

  3. […] Hitchhiking in Estonia – new category May 2010 2 comments 4 […]

    Vasta

Lisa kommentaar

